Janis McKay
Janis McKay
Bassoonist • Educator • Author

Las Vegas Philharmonic: Oktoberfest

  • The Smith Center 361 Symphony Park Avenue Las Vegas, NV, 89106 United States

WE SHOWCASE IMPORTANT WORKS from three masters in this striking program that combines some of the most prolific composers rooted in Austro-German Romanticism. Coriolan Overture, written by Ludwig van Beethoven in 1807 for a play by the same title, is a fictional depiction of a General invading Rome. Honoring the story, the music aptly expresses a need to conquer, then yields to tenderness, finally revealing tragedy and remorse. Clarinetist, Cory Tiffin, steps into the spotlight with Mozart’s singular Clarinet Concerto, which was written in 1791 just two months before the composer’s death. The concerto is notable for its delicate interplay between soloist and orchestra. Tiffin remarks, “Entire books have been written about style, interpretation, and the history behind this work, but to prepare for a performance is a daunting and engrossing task; the sort of charge that wholly feeds the obsessive side of a musician for many weeks–hours and hours of practice, study, research, and meditation are required.” Anton Bruckner’s Symphony No. 1, nicknamed “the saucy maid” by the composer, provides further opportunity for the orchestra and audience to explore Bruckner’s unique and phenomenal symphonies. Although this is his first symphony, Bruckner wrote it at the age of 44 and it was well-received when he conducted the premiere in Vienna in 1868.

Ticketing and further information can be found at www.LVPhil.org.

  • BEETHOVEN Coriolan Overture, Opus 62
  • MOZART Clarinet Concerto in A Major, K. 622
  • BRUCKNER Symphony No. 1 in C Minor